Madeon, Back With A Bang?

madeon imperiumThought I’d get the ball rolling and start off with a possible one hit wonder – Madeon.   He seemed to hit fame with his track Finale which has been used all over the place and don’t get me wrong it is a good song.   If people hear his track they might be able to put a name to it, but what about his others?

Nothing is heard for a couple of years and then he returns this week – a new release called “Imperium”.   He played this at EDC Las Vegas 2014 but has finally come out with a version which may or may not be finished.  Either way here is the new track he has produced – https://soundcloud.com/tastynetwork/madeon-imperium-fifa-15

As suggested in the link, this new track is going to be premiered on FIFA 15, the popular football console game.  Surprisingly, Avicii is also going to release a new track through FIFA, something unexpected seeing as though he is a bigger artist.

My thoughts of the track?  First of all, I don’t mind this track, branded as “electro-funk”, it’s fairly upbeat from the start, the minimal drop, the middle becomes a bit boring, typical of all electro house songs, typical melody leading up to another drop – it would be nice to see something a little different from producers rather than the generic pattern.  The same melody repeats again mixed with the up beat again and then fades out.

My rating is 6/10, I’ve heard a lot worse, but for the time Madeon has had to create some new content, I would have expected better.  It’s safe to say, he won’t be getting my money.  But it’s so generic, typical and unoriginal, it does not give me something to look forward to for his other new content (if there is any).

He may prove me wrong.  But for now, I’m not feeling it.

DB

Leave a comment